Member, American Council of Learned Societies and National Humanities Alliance

PRESIDENT Karen Emmerich Princeton University

VICE-PRESIDENT Karyn Ball University of Alberta

SECOND VICE PRESIDENT Hosam Aboul-Ela University of Houston

SECRETARY-TREASURER Dina Al-Kassim University of British Columbia

CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER Danielle Fanucchi

PAST PRESIDENT Ranjana Khanna Duke University

NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE CHAIR Jennifer Wenzel Columbia University

FINANCE COMMITTEE CHAIR Robert Meister University of California, Santa Cruz

PROGRAM COMMITTEE CHAIR Jini Kim Watson University of Melbourne

PUBLICATIONS COMMITTEE CHAIR Harris Feinsod Johns Hopkins University

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE CHAIR Tze-Lan Sang Michigan State University

ADPCL REPRESENTATIVE Luis Fernando Restrepo University of Arkansas

GRADUATE STUDENT COMMITTEE CHAIR Xena Amro Northwestern University

GRADUATE STUDENT REPRESENTATIVES Lilika Kukiela University of Toronto

Ipek Sahinler University of Texas at Austin

Horst Frenz Prize, 2025

Committee:

J. Scott Miller (Chair), Brigham Young University Janet A. Walker, Rutgers University Pavel Andrade, Texas Tech University

Honorable Mention: "(Counter)archiving Minerals: From Fear to Hope in Contemporary Mexican Fictions," by Francisco Tijerina

In "(Counter)archiving Minerals: From Fear to Hope in Contemporary Mexican Fictions," Francisco Tijerina examines two Mexican literary texts to reveal how Canada ("nice Canada") has become a major practitioner of violent extractive politics. Along the way the paper achieves an insightful ecological intervention.