

Member, American Council of Learned Societies and National Humanities Alliance

ACLA 323 E. Wacker Dr., #642 Chicago, Illinois 60601 www.acla.org info@acla.org phone 312.379.9026

Harry Levin Prize, 2025

Committee:

Chair: Juan G. Ramos (College of the Holy Cross), 2022-2025 Seth Kimmel (Columbia), 2023-2026 Gal Gvili (McGill), 2024-2027

Winner: Sacred Language, Vernacular Difference by Annette Lienau

Spanning sub-Saharan Africa, Southeast Asia, and the Middle East, *Sacred Language, Vernacular Difference* is an erudite and ambitious study that redefines Arabic's character as a global language by tracing local currents of anticolonial politics and vernacular literatures beneath the language's perceived uniformity. The book challenges familiar distinctions between sacred and vernacular and Arab and non-Arab ('ajam), revealing their rootedness in pre-colonial and colonial knowledge structures. Through meticulous historical research and insightful literary analysis, this monograph uncovers a complex interplay of languages and histories— French, Arabic, and Wolof in Senegal; Dutch and Indonesian in Indonesia; and English and Arabic in Egypt. Reconstructing the intellectual and poetic networks that fueled anticolonial thought, *Sacred Language, Vernacular Difference* offers a novel perspective on how the politics of language continues shaping comparative literature.

PRESIDENT Karen Emmerich Princeton University

VICE-PRESIDENT Karyn Ball University of Alberta

SECOND VICE PRESIDENT Hosam Aboul-Ela University of Houston

SECRETARY-TREASURER Dina Al-Kassim University of British Columbia

CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER Danielle Fanucchi

PAST PRESIDENT Ranjana Khanna Duke University

NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE CHAIR Jennifer Wenzel Columbia University

FINANCE COMMITTEE CHAIR Robert Meister University of California, Santa Cruz

PROGRAM COMMITTEE CHAIR Jini Kim Watson University of Melbourne

PUBLICATIONS COMMITTEE CHAIR Harris Feinsod Johns Hopkins University

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE CHAIR Tze-Lan Sang Michigan State University

ADPCL REPRESENTATIVE Luis Fernando Restrepo University of Arkansas

GRADUATE STUDENT COMMITTEE CHAIR Xena Amro Northwestern University

GRADUATE STUDENT REPRESENTATIVES Lilika Kukiela University of Toronto

Ipek Sahinler University of Texas at Austin