ACLA Presidential Master's Prize 2022

Samantha Pinto (University of Texas at Austin), Akshya Saxena (Vanderbilt University), and Xiomara Cervantes-Gómez (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

Winner: Mariajosé Rodríguez-Pliego for "Reading Futures, Reconfiguring Spaces: Indigenous Cosmovisions Behind the Migration Novels of Leslie Marmon Silko and Yuri Herrera"

Mariajosé Rodríguez-Pliego's thesis makes a necessary turn in comparative literature by deeply integrating indigenous literatures and critical race theory into the field. Through its close readings and intertwining of temporal and spatial theoretical frames, this work sutures together disparate landscapes and histories of immigration, climate disaster, and literary forms. Beautifully conceptualized, Rodríguez-Pliego's thesis argues for a hemispheric American & Latin American studies that includes and is challenged at its core by two very different indigenous literary traditions.