Skip to Content

Horst Frenz Prize

The Horst Frenz Prize is awarded to the best paper presented by a graduate student at the annual meeting of the ACLA. The Horst Frenz Prize consists of a $300 cash award, complimentary registration to the ACLA Annual Meeting, and a travel reimbursement grant of up to $300 to attend the following year's ACLA Annual Meeting to receive the award in person, as well as publication of the paper in the Yearbook of Comparative Literature.

Nominations of papers for the 2018 Horst Frenz prize are encouraged from all ACLA members who participated in the 2017 Annual Meeting at Utrecht University.

Congratulations to the winner of the 2017 Horst Frenz prize:  

  • Yael Kenan (University of Michigan) for her paper, "'Dialogue in Monologue': Addressing Darwish in Hebrew." (CITATION)

And congratulations to the Honorable Mention winner of the 2017 Horst Frenz Prize:

  • Ethan Reed (University of Virginia) for his paper, "'I heard that Voice in Troy': Resonance and Entanglement in Walcott's The Odyssey: A Stage Version" (CITATION)

The Frenz Prize Committee for 2018 is Eugene Eoyang (Indiana University), Steven Sondrup (Brigham Young University), Janet Walker (Rutgers University), and Steven Walker (Rutgers University).

If you heard a graduate student whose presentation at the 2017 conference at Utrecht University in Utrecht, the Netherlands seemed to you outstanding, please pass along as much information as possible (name of presenter, paper title, e-mail, etc.) to the ACLA Secretariat via the ACLA's Horst Frenz Prize nomination form. It is helpful to explain why you admire the paper. The deadline for nominations for the 2018 award is July 31st, 2017 at midnight EST.

Nominate a Paper

Previous Frenz prize winners:

  • Amanda Mazur (Princeton University), for her paper, "Chamoiseau’s Literary Creolization: The Stylistic Potential of a Vernacular". (CITATION)
    Honorable Mention: Meg Arenberg (Indiana University), for her paper, "The Disenchantment of the World: Intertextuality and Disillusionment in Euphrase Kezilahabi’s Nagona and Mzingile". (CITATION)
  • Adhira Mangalagiri (University of Chicago), for her paper, "Worlding Theory: Language as a New Possibility in Literary Theory" (2015). (CITATION)
    Honorable Mention: Kendra Dority (University of California, Santa Cruz), for her paper, "Grammatos | Agrammatos: Illiterate Readers and the Value of Comparative Reading in Athenaeus’ Deipnosophistae" (2015). (CITATION)
  • Katharine Trostel (University of California, Santa Cruz), for her paper, "The Eye that Cries: Macro and Micro Narratives of Memory in Peru Post-Shining Path" (2014). (CITATION)
  • Veli Yashin (Columbia University), for his paper, "Euro(tro)pology: Philology, World Literature, and the Legacy of Erich Auerbach" (2013). (CITATION)
    Honorable Mention: Tom Nurmi (University of Arizona), for his paper, "Corpse Traffic: Trans-Pacific Geographies and the Ethics of Writing in Twain’s Roughing It" (2013). (CITATION)
  • Spencer Scoville (University of Michigan), for his paper, "Reading Russian in the Nahdah: Khalil Baydas as Translator" (2012). (CITATION)
    Honorable Mention: Kendra Dority (University of California, Santa Cruz), for her paper, "Back to the Letter Alpha': Destabilizing Literacy Narratives through Callias’ Grammatike Theoria" (2012). (CITATION)
  • Eugenia Kelbert (Yale University), for her paper "Reborn as René: the Interplay of Self and Language in Rilke's Late French and German Poetry" (2011). (CITATION)
    Honorable Mention: Bhavya Tiwari (University of Texas at Austin), for her paper "Comparative World Literature in India" (2011). (CITATION)
  • Yi-Ping Ong (Harvard University), for her paper "Towards a Life View: Nietzsche, Kierkegaard, and the Novel" (2010). (CITATION)
    Honorable Mention: Cecile Guédon (U of London), for her paper "Poetic Gestures, Modernist Choreographies" (2010). (CITATION)
  • Ariel Ross (Emory University), for her paper, "'I Will Move Hell': Virgil's Repetition Compulsion" (2009). (CITATION)
  • Sharareh Frouzesh Bennett (University of California - Irvine), for her paper, "The Politics of Appropriation: Writing, Responsibility, and the Specter of the Native Informant" (2008). (CITATION)
    Honorable Mention: Kyla Schuller (University of California - San Diego), for her paper, "The Fossil and the Photograph: Capturing the ‘Primitive’ in the Museum and Boarding School." (2008) (CITATION)
  • Guilan Siassi (University of California - Los Angeles), for "Dreaming the Body into Words: Translating Affect between Cultures in Khatibi's Amour Bilingue" (2007). (CITATION)
    Honorable Mention: Karen Zumhagen-Yekplé (University of California - Berkeley), for "Puzzle, Parable, and the Limits of the Imagination: The Literary Ethics of Kafka and Wittgenstein" (2007). (CITATION)
  • Maya Barzilai and Katra Byram (University of California - Berkeley), for "The Challenge of Lyric Address in War Poems by Yitzchak Laor and Ingeborg Bachmann" (2006). (CITATION)
  • Geoffrey Baker (Rutgers University), for "Empiricism and Empire: Orientalist Antiquing in Balzac's Peau de chagrin" (2005). (CITATION)
    Honorable Mention: Karen Zumhagen (University of California - Berkeley), for "Image and Riddle as Warning in Ricardo Piglia's Artificial Respiration" (2005). (CITATION)
  • Sarah Casteel (Columbia University), for "Joy Kogawa's Native Envy: New World Discourse in Obasan and Itsuka" (2004). (CITATION)
  • Lida Oukaderova (University of Texas at Austin), for "Money, Translation and Subjectivity in Isaak Babel's "Guy de Maupassant" (2003).
  • Katarzyna Pieprzak (University of Michigan), for "Whose Patrimony Is It Anyway? The Quarrel between Ali Baba's Cave and the National Museums of Morocco" (2002).
    Honorable Mention: Joy Ramirez (University of Colorado), for "The Desert of the Real: Las Vegas" (2002).
  • Esther Gabara (Stanford University), for "Engendering Nation: Mexican Photo-Essays, 1920-1940” (2001).
  • Kristi M. Wilson (University of California - San Diego), for "Nietzsche, Euripides, Philosophy and Philology in the Age of Graecomania" (2000).
    Honorable Mention: Jana Evans Braziel (University of Massachusetts, Amherst), for "De Port-au-Prince a Montreal: Nomad-Exile in Dany Laferriere's Chronique de la derive douce."
  • Steven Adisasmito-Smith (University of Illinois), for "The Self in Transition: British Orientalists, American Transcendentalists, and Sanskrit Scriptures in English" (1999).

Please submit any missing information you might have concerning this compilation to the ACLA.